Legal Rules and Regulatory Concepts for the Use of Information Technology in Ecclesiastical Law and the Law of the Relations between State and Church in Switzerland, Austria, and Germany

The project "Legal Rules and Regulatory Concepts for the Use of Information Technology in Ecclesiastical Law and the Law of the Relations between State and Church in Switzerland, Austria, and Germany" is intended to (1) identify existing legal regulations and regulatory approaches to church usage of information and communications technology (ICT) that have been issued by the Roman Catholic Church and the Protestant Churches in Switzerland, Germany and Austria.

It also aims to (2) examine the extent to which and in what ways the usage of ICT is subject to legal regulations in the law governing the relationship between church and state in Switzerland, Germany and Austria. The project will also (3) examine the legal doctrines that have been developed to justify and explain these rules, and how this development takes place.

In addition, the project aims to (4) reveal underlying ideas about "digital church action," as it could be called here, in terms of their relation to the general understanding of church identities and especially the role of church doctrine.

Moreover, the project (5) asks how and to what extent these rules also reveal societal ideas about the position of the church and what church action is desired in societies in the transition to digitalization. Ideally, the project will also (6) be able to support rule-makers, both ecclesiastical and secular, with expertise, material and conceptual advice.

Rechtsregeln und Regelungskonzeptionen für den Gebrauch von Informationstechnologie im Kirchen- und Staatskirchenrecht in der Schweiz, in Österreich und in Deutschland

Das Projekt "Rechtsregeln und Regelungskonzeptionen für den Gebrauch von Informationstechnologie im Kirchen- und Staatskirchenrecht in der Schweiz, in Österreich und in Deutschland" soll (1) bereits bestehende rechtliche Regelungen und Regelungsansätze zur kirchlichen Nutzung von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik (IKT) erfassen, die von der römisch-katholischen Kirche sowie den evangelischen Kirchen in der Schweiz, Deutschland und Österreich erlassen wurden.

Es soll (2) untersuchen, inwieweit und wie der Einsatz von IKT Gegenstand rechtlicher Regelungen im Recht des Verhältnisses von Kirche und Staat in der Schweiz, Deutschland und Österreich ist. Das Projekt soll ferner (3) untersuchen, wie und welche rechtswissenschaftlichen Doktrinen entwickelt wurden, um diese Urteile zu rechtfertigen und zu erklären.

Darüber hinaus ist es das Ziel des Projekts, (4) die zugrundeliegenden Vorstellungen über "digitales kirchliches Handeln", wie es hier genannt werden könnte, in ihrem Verhältnis zum allgemeinen Verständnis kirchlicher Identitäten und insbesondere der Rolle kirchlicher Lehre aufzudecken.

Zugleich soll (5) gefragt werden, wie und inwieweit diese Regeln auch gesellschaftliche Vorstellungen über die Stellung und das gewünschte kirchliche Handeln in Gesellschaften im Übergang zur Digitalisierung offenbaren. Idealerweise wird das Projekt (6) auch kirchlichen wie säkularen Regelsetzern mit Expertise, juristischem Material und konzeptioneller Beratung zur Seite stehen können.