Argument Structures in the Automatic Detection of Intolerance and Extremism

The project "Argument Structures in the Automatic Detection of Intolerance and Extremism" investigates extremism, intolerance and echo chambers on the Internet in contrast with respect and a culture of dialogue. In our era of social media, fake news, shitstorms, increasing fragmentation of society and pandemic isolation, these issues have become more important than ever.

The aim of this project is to recognize trends in digital media and identify prevalent associations, attitudes and opinions. The project will contribute to an understanding of where and how respect is suppressed by ideology. It will focus on the arguments that are the foundation upon which discussion participants construct their opinions about religious matters and other societal issues.

We measure and interpret these factors using content analysis, statistical methods of digital humanities and artificial intelligence. These include text classification, topic modeling, neural networks, distributional semantics, conceptual maps, argument mining and clustering. We will then compare the results of our methods with survey results.

A constructive, open dialogue that is characterized by respect, tolerance and the willingness to engage with one another is the cornerstone of democracy. Ideologies - religious and otherwise - can undermine these values. We plan to make our collected data available to the public in an anonymized form.

Argumentstrukturen in der automatischen Erkennung von Intoleranz und Extremismus

Das Projekt "Argumentstrukturen in der automatischen Erkennung von Intoleranz und Extremismus" untersucht Extremismus, Intoleranz und Echokammern versus Respekt und Dialogkultur im Internet. In Zeiten von sozialen Medien, Fake News, Shitstorms, zunehmender Fragmentierung der Gesellschaft und Corona-Vereinsamung sind diese Themen wichtiger denn je.

Ziel des Projektes ist, Trends in den digitalen Medien zu erkennen, Assoziationen, Einstellungen und Meinungen zu erfassen. Das Projekt soll dazu beitragen, zu verstehen, wo und mit welchen Ausdrucksmitteln Respekt durch Ideologie verdrängt wird und mit welchen Argumenten Diskussionsteilnehmende ihre Meinungen zu religiösen und wichtigen gesellschaftlichen Fragen begründen.

Wir messen und interpretieren diese Grössen mit Inhaltsanalysen, statistischen Methoden der Digital Humanities und künstlicher Intelligenz. Dazu gehören Klassifikation, Topic Modelling, Neuronale Netze, Distributionale Semantik, Konzeptuelle Karten, Argument Mining und Clustering. Wir vergleichen die Resultate unserer textbasierten Methoden mit Umfrageergebnissen.

Ein konstruktiver, offener Dialog, geprägt von Respekt, Toleranz und der Bereitschaft, aufeinander einzugehen, ist ein Grundpfeiler der Demokratie und der Auseinandersetzung mit Sinnfragen. Religiöse und andere Ideologien können diese Werte aushöhlen. Wir planen auch, einen Teil unserer gesammelten Daten in anonymisierter Form der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.