Research

Digital Religion(s) Research Activities

Well-founded insights into the dynamic relationship between religion and digital media practices—on individual, communal and societal levels—and their potential for conflict resolution and fostering dialogue within religious plurality and diversity are imperative for a meaningful way of life and for peaceful coexistence in today's society, in Switzerland and in a global context.

It is not just since the era of COVID-19 that questions of religion and spirituality, ways of life and existential questions of meaning have become essential topics in digital practices of communication, interaction and transformation. In its initial phase (2021–2024), the URPP examines the practices, challenges, risks and opportunities of "Digital Religion" in today's globally networked society—in both the Swiss and the international context.

The overarching goal is (1) to identify the cultural, political and societal capabilities of religion and its diverse communicative practices in digital society, (2) to analyze religious and technologically influenced formations of identity and community, (3) to ascertain claims to authority and authenticity on the digital market of meaning creation and their possible risks, and (4) to explore the constructive contributions of digital religious practice for individuals, communities and society.

The title "Digital Religion(s)" signals that we will consider, on the one hand, the plurality of diverse religious traditions and institutions and, on the other hand, will explore religious practices and forms of community building outside of firmly established religious formations.

Research Structure Digital Religion(s)

Digital Religion(s) Research Modules and Subprojects

The dynamics of digital religious communication, interaction and transformation will be investigated in terms of their legal and ethical contexts using well-founded theoretical-hermeneutic and empirical approaches and in interdisciplinary and international collaborations. In the initial phase, the URPP is developing the terminological, substantive and methodological foundations for targeted research in the consortium as a whole. This work is divided into two modules (A: "Internal Dynamics" and B: "External Dynamics") with twelve individual subprojects (P1–P12), involving collaboration among researchers from the fields of theology, religious studies, linguistics and computational linguistics, sociology, media and communication studies and law.

Through this network of interdisciplinary collaboration in research—and thus an academic culture of networked digital religion research—the field of "Digital Religion," which has been developing for twenty years in various international contexts, is significantly advanced, intensified, and made visible in innovative ways within and beyond the academic public.

Forschung

Forschungsinhalte Digital Religion(s)

Fundierte Einsichten in das dynamische Verhältnis von Religion und digitaler Medienpraxis – auf individueller, gemeinschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Ebene – und deren Potenzial zur Konfliktbewältigung und Dialogförderung innerhalb religiöser Pluralität und Diversität sind für eine sinnvolle Lebensführung sowie für ein friedliches Zusammenleben in der heutigen Gesellschaft, sowohl in der Schweiz als auch im globalen Kontext, unerlässlich.

Nicht erst seit den Zeiten von Covid-19 sind die Fragen nach Religion und Spiritualität, Lebensführung und existenziellen Sinnfragen zu wesentlichen Themen digitaler Kommunikations-, Interaktions- und Transformationspraxis geworden. Der UFSP untersucht in seiner ersten Phase (2021-2024) die Praktiken, Herausforderungen, Risiken und Chancen "Digitaler Religion" in der heutigen global vernetzten Gesellschaft – sowohl im schweizerischen wie internationalen Kontext.

Übergeordnetes Ziel ist es, (1) die kulturellen, politischen und gesellschaftlichen Potenziale von Religion und ihren vielfältigen kommunikativen Praktiken in der digitalen Gesellschaft zu identifizieren, (2) religiöse und technologiegeprägte Identitäts- und Gemeinschaftsbildungen zu analysieren, (3) Autoritäts- und Authentizitätsansprüche auf dem digitalen Markt der Sinnstiftung und deren mögliche Risiken zu erheben sowie (4) konstruktive Beiträge digitaler religiöser Praxis für Individuen, Gemeinschaften und die Gesellschaft zu sondieren.

Dabei signalisiert die Bezeichnung "Digital Religion(s)", dass zum einen die Pluralität unterschiedlichster religiöser Traditionen und Institutionen in den Blick kommen wird, zum anderen religiöse Praktiken und Gemeinschaftsbildungen ausserhalb festgefügter Religionsformationen erforscht werden.

Aufbau Forschung Digital Religion(s)

projects digital religions

Forschungsmodule und Teilprojekte Digital Religion(s)

Die Dynamik digitaler religiöser Kommunikation, Interaktion und Transformation im Hinblick auf ihre rechtlichen und ethischen Kontexte soll dabei mit fundierten theoretisch-hermeneutischen und empirischen Ansätzen und in interdisziplinärer und internationaler Zusammenarbeit erforscht werden. Der UFSP erarbeitet dafür in seiner Anfangsphase die terminologischen, inhaltlichen und methodischen Grundlagen für die gezielte Forschung im Gesamtkonsortium, d.h. in zwei Modulen (A: „Internal Dynamics“ und B: „External Dynamics“) sowie zwölf einzelnen Teilprojekten (P1-P12). Dabei kooperieren Forschende aus den Bereichen Theologie, Religionswissenschaft, Linguistik und Computerlinguistik, Soziologie, Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaft sowie Rechtswissenschaft.

Durch dieses Netzwerk interdisziplinärer Forschungskooperation – und damit einer akademischen Kultur vernetzter digitaler Religionsforschung – wird die seit zwanzig Jahren in verschiedenen internationalen Kontexten sich entwickelte Forschungsthematik "Digitale Religion" deutlich weiterentwickelt, intensiviert und auf innovative Weise innerhalb und ausserhalb der akademischen Öffentlichkeit sichtbar gemacht.